Under the Spotlight….Darren West Neon Artist

“I started to believe that neon and art could have an amazing relationship together”

IMG_1107

Do you have positive/negative memories of art when you were at school?

All my memories from art at school were very positive. I always enjoyed art and sometimes used to have to go to the art classes when I was excluded from other lessons.

What would your school report have said about your art?

Alternative!!

Did you go on to further education in art or are you self-taught?

I served an apprenticeship in glass blowing – 7 years in total.  I then went on to work commercially in the Neon sign making industry.  I have spent 30 years in the trade.

IMG_1055

What or who has inspired you over the years?

I am inspired by alternative, unusual artists.  My work can sometimes be controversial, and I enjoy coming out of mainstream art.

What Artists do you admire?

Damien Hirst is one of my favs. I like his honesty within the art world.

What is your favourite piece of work (yours and someone else)?

Mr Brainwash…vintage Lennon

IMG_1036web

What has been the highlight of your artistic career so far? What are you proud to have achieved?

I think to show with Mr Brainwash and Bambi in London. I was part of the Amy Winehouse foundation party this year. Having my own London shows…Starting an urban gallery 77art.

What have you sacrificed for your art?

Money….even though I sell worldwide it’s hard.

What’s the best bit of advice that has been given to you?

Make as many pieces as possible and make sure every-one is quality. If you don’t like it start again. Enjoy what you do. Art is art and it doesn’t matter what you do whether painting at weekends for fun or showing in LA…..

What advice would you give to an aspiring artist/craftsperson?

Don’t take no for an answer from galleries, produce many different types of art within different genres for your port-folio; try to be different and edgy.

IMG_1065

 How do you start a piece of work?

My ideas come from many sources, TV and music mainly.  I just get an idea and go with it.

 When is it finished?

When it’s plugged in for the first time.

 Do you have a mantra, quote or line from a song that best sums up what your art means to you?

All in all it’s just another brick in the wall.

Does music help with your creativity?  If so what would you choose to listen to whilst working on a piece?

I love playing Paul Weller and Pink Floyd. These give me the inspiration to work….

IMG_1095

Do you have a lucky or favourite something that you use that has been with you forever?

A French franc…don’t ask.

Are you living your dream through your art or do you have one – what do you strive for?

My aim is to work with Tracey Emin and Damien Hirst on an art project.

Is there anything you avoid with your art?

No everything and anything goes. I am aware of children going into art galleries so would always consider that part

Tag

When Lizzie at concept frames told us about Darren West the Neon guy we were intrigued, and rightly so, what Darren does with the glass blowing technique to produce his art work is truly unique and stunning.  A big thank you to Darren and many congratulations on your recent success in London and we wish you all the very best with your new ventures in the art world…..

To find out more follow these links…..

http://www.neonartist.co.uk/  https://www.facebook.com/darren.westneonartist http://www.77art.co.uk/

About worthingart

Worthing Art is the invention of three artists/craftspeople living in Worthing, on the sunny south coast of England. Our aim is to create a central point of information about the visual arts in our local area. There is such a lot going on and so many creative people around here and we want to help spread the word through our Facebook page and this blog. We will also share national events and info if it's relevant. We are entirely non profit....we're in it fot the joy! We are: Lorraine Heaysman: Photographer. Marie Vickers: Mixed Media Artist/Printmaker and Textile Artist. Naomi Frances: Illustrator, Maker of Stained Glass, Mixed Media Artist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Under the Spotlight….Darren West Neon Artist

  1. Pingback: Darren West – Lot 4 | worthingcharityauction

Leave a comment